• MY CART    0

    Your cart is currently empty.

  • Never Before Never Again Book
  • Never Before Never Again Book

Dragons Team Store

Never Before Never Again Book


or make 4 interest-free payments of $8.75 AUD fortnightly with Afterpay More info




Never Before, Never Again tells the remarkable and timeless story of how the men of St George accomplished a sporting miracle from 1956 to 1966, and what became of them in the years that followed.


This is a book of two parts. Larry Writer takes us through the 11 premiership-winning years, recalling some of the greatest matches and most poignant moments in league history. Then, having interviewed the major players and officials, reporters, fans and family members, he profiles each of the greats: men such as Norm Provan, Johnny Raper, Billy Smith, Ken Kearney, Ian Walsh, Reg Gasnier and Harry Bath. Their stories are funny and raw, and occasionally heartbreaking.


Revised and updated to celebrate the 50th anniversary of the 11th premiership, this special edition features new forewords by two modern-day Saints heroes, Craig Young and Mark Gasnier, and ends with an emotional postscript built on an exclusive interview Writer conducted with Johnny King and Eddie Lumsden, the champion wingers from the glory days. The spirit of ’56–66 lives on, and must never be forgotten.


Title: Never Before, Never Again

Sub-title: The Story of St George’s 11 Straight Rugby League Premierships, 1956–66

Author: Larry Writer

Format & Dimensions: Paperback, 232 x 153mm

Page extent: 528 pages

Photos: Colour & black-and-white, in two eight-page sections and throughout the book

End Matter: Includes a statistics section, bibliography and index

Paper stock: 90gsm woodfree

Binding: Perfect bound

Search our store